Merrol Hyde

Merrol Hyde teammates celebrate with the district championship plaque after defeating East Robertson 9-0.

HENDERSONVILLE - For the third year in-a-row the Merrol Hyde Lady Hawks are District 8 Champions.

Jason Bentley’s team won the district championship 9-0 over visiting East Robertson Monday night in 40 minutes of action. 

Six different Lady Hawks scored for Merrol Hyde with Karina Steiner leading the way with a hat trick. 

“I think we play our best soccer when we play simple,” Merrol Hyde head coach Jason Bentley said. “The effort and want to is there and they have put in the work. There is a fire under them right now and I think we saw that tonight.”

The Lady Hawks finished off the regular season 11-3-1, and they are starting to find their stride at the most important time of the season. 

“It’s been a challenging season so far,” Bentley said. “We have had good competition throughout the year. I think tonight is the closest we have been to healthy since our opening game against Macon County. We saw good soccer tonight and I think our health is a key to that. The attacked from the beginning, controlled the tempo, and had a good result.”

Julia Lewis, Mary Mcillwain, Abigail Oaks, Carlee Zettergen (2), Steiner (3), and Katie Hull each scored for Merrol Hyde. 

The Hawks will host the Region 4 District 7 runner up Thursday, October 17 in the region semifinals. 

For the Lady Indians, the loss drops East to 12-6 overall and puts them on the road for the region semifinals.

Despite the tough result, head coach Todd Evilcizer is optimistic heading into Thursday night’s game. 

“I am confident in the direction we are headed,” he said. “We just need to learn from this and be thankful we get a chance to redeem ourselves, but overall I’m confident in this team and I think they are confident in themselves.

“Merrol Hyde is just at a different place than we are,” he continued. “When it is your school's number one sport, and you have a ton of club players it really shows. Our girls do a great job of working hard in the season and I think we do well with that. I’m really proud of them and the job they have done this year.”

Following the game, district superlatives were handed out including MVP, Offensive MVP, Defensive MVP, Keeper of the Year, Coach of the Year, and first and second team all-district selections.

East Robertson coach Todd Evilcizer earned Coach of the Year honors. 

Merrol Hyde - Champion 

Abigail Oaks - District 8 MVP

Tessa Bentley - District 8 Defensive MVP

Gabby Wakefield - First Team

Kaitlin Koster - First Team

Lizzie Wilder - First Team

Carlee Zettergen - First Team

McKenna Brown - Second Team

Mary McIllwain - Second Team

Sydney Rewa - Second Team


East Robertson - Runner Up

Isabelle Lanius - Offensive MVP

Reese Swearingen - Keeper of the Year

Anna Hornberger - First Team

Peyton Lackey - First Team

Madison Tatum - First Team

Savannah Mayes - Second Team

Abby Drake - Second Team


Recommended for you